Scone & Butter Pudding

I am permanently on a diet, have been for years, and have historically been dreadful at sticking to it.  I finally accepted that denying myself anything sweet was a sure fire way to ensure I failed.  Now I am managing to gradually lose weight by counting my calories from Monday – Saturday and allowing myself to indulge on Sunday.  Sunday tea is cake and pudding.  That’s it, cake and pudding.  Nothing savoury, nothing healthy just cake and pudding and I love it!  There is however a huge element of risk to me having cake and pudding available.  When it comes to my sweet tooth I have no willpower whatsoever, so I cannot have the yummy stuff easily available, it wouldn’t last a day and my diet would be over.  To get around this flaw in my character, when I do bake anything or have any cakey leftovers from dinner parties or bake club, I chop it into portions and store it in the freezer which lives in our garage.  Despite my need for cake, and my shameful lack of discipline when it comes to sugary goodness, the requirement to put on shoes, visit the spidery garage and then wait for my sinful treat to defrost is deterrent enough to ensure I do not binge on a whim!

As I say on the ‘About page’, I am not a brilliant cook, I like to think of myself as adorably haphazard! One day I can bake a cake that would impress Mary Berry, the following day it would have me kicked out of the Bake Off tent. However I hate throwing food away and over the years have got quite adept at freezing leftovers or failed bakes to utilise at a later date.  I may not always know what I am going to do with them, but I trust that inspiration will finally hit me, and it usually does.

Not long ago I had made a Paul Hollywood Apple Brioche, that I was rather disappointed with.  I froze the extras and it sat in the freezer for a couple of months.  When I had the horrifying crisis of no pudding portions left for my Sunday tea I decided to make some bread and butter pudding.  In a fit of inspiration I used the apple brioche and was rather impressed with the result.  When the brioche and butter pudding ran out I decided to use some malt loaf that I had been trying to avoid eating as it hadn’t baked in the middle.  Malt loaf and Butter pudding was a total win.  Sadly last week I ran out! Rooting around in the freezer I found a bag of scones left over from a fund raising event I had been involved in.  I wont eat a scone without jam and cream, and unless I am baking I don’t usually have cream in the house, so they had been sitting there ignored and unloved for a while. I decided they would be the next candidate to participate in my bread and butter pudding fetish.  Scone and butter pudding is born, and I have to say, served with some homemade vanilla ice cream was a quite delightful treat.  I admit its heavier than the brioche version, and I should probably have divided it into smaller portions, but hey its done now and I am sure I will cope 🙂

Scone and Butter Pudding (makes 10 rather big portions)

Take a pile of leftover scones, I had 16, and chop them into thin slices.  Lightly butter each slice and set to one side.  Keep the crumbs you generate whilst slicing, remember we don’t want anything to go to waste! (BTW, sorry about the lighting in this weeks images, I didn’t realise until it was too late that I had the camera on the wrong setting)!

IMG_0142 IMG_0155

Next take some dried fruit and sugar and mix together with a spoonful of cinnamon. I used sultanas and cranberries, but if I had managed to find the bag of dried cherries I am sure are hiding in my pantry somewhere I would have used them instead of the sultanas!

IMG_0158 IMG_0159

Finally you need 2 tablespoons of demerara sugar, a small jar of jam (I’m using my homemade cherry and amaretto jam), 4 eggs and 700mls of skimmed milk.

IMG_0162 IMG_0164

Get a large deep dish and lay a layer of scones butter side down.  Sprinkle over half of the sugar and fruit mixture then blob on half the jam.

IMG_0165 IMG_0168

Cover the first layer with another layer of scones (butter side up), fruit and jam, and finish with a layer of scones. Beat the eggs and milk together and pour over the dish.  if it doesn’t all fit, don’t worry leave the excess on the side.  Sprinkle over 3/4 of the demerara  sugar and leave to stand for an hour.

IMG_0171 IMG_0174

During this hour you can top up the liquid a little as the scones take up the moisture.  Also an ideal opportunity for the obligatory cuppa, and a lesson in the art of patience for Maisie.  Well if I have to wait for my pudding she can suffer with me!  Don’t worry, I didn’t make her wait the hour 🙂

IMG_0175 IMG_0177

Once the hour is up, you have finished your tea and let the dog eat the treat, preheat the oven to 160c (fan), sprinkle over the remaining sugar and bake for 45-50 mins, or until golden brown and the custard has set.  Serve with vanilla ice cream for a truly sinful, diet breaking and comforting treat.

IMG_0181 IMG_0196

I was quite pleased with this invention (not something I often say), and I imagine many types of cake could be used in this way.  I may starting hoping for bad bake days so I can see how many different versions of bread and butter pudding I can come up with.

Next week I will be making Paul Hollywood’s Barm Cakes for you.  Oh and final point, I did say last week that I would be blogging Mary Berry’s Cannoli Cake , however I had a very bad day and totally forgot to take pictures. It was almost a success and I have to say possibly my new most favourite cake, I will definitely be making it again in the near future and will blog it then.

(NO Nutritional info… its cheat day food after all)


Scone & Butter Pudding
Ingredients List
16 Scones
Butter for spreading
100g Cranberries
100g Sultanas
50g caster sugar
1 teaspoon cinnamon
Small jar of jam
2 tablespoons Demerara sugar
4 eggs
700ml milk

Method
1 - Slice the scones into thin slices and lightly butter one side of 
each piece 
2 - Mix the sugar cinnamon and fruits together
3 - Beat the eggs and milk together
4 - Lay a third of the scones on the bottom of a large deep baking dish, 
butter side down
5 - Sprinkle over half the fruit mixture and blob on half the jam
6 - Lay another third of the scones, butter side up, and sprinkle over 
the remaining fruit and jam, and any crumbs
7 - Finish with a layer of the remaining scones.
8 - Pour over the milk and eggs and sprinkle on 3/4 of the Demerara 
sugar, leave any excess liquid to the side.
9 - Leave for an hour, topping up the liquid as the scones soak up the 
mixture
10 - Sprinkle on the remaining demerara sugar and place into an oven
preheated to 160c (fan) and bake for 45-50 mins or until golden brown
and the custard has set.
Leave a Reply

