Homemade Taco Seasoning

Having just returned from an amazing holiday in South Africa, I was all refreshed and ready to blog my little heart out.  Typically my laptop decided it was also going to take a holiday and I have had to spend a week getting back into working order, hence this blog will be short, as most of today has been installing software rather than writing!

IMG_1463

(sorry couldn’t resist adding a holiday snap of my favourite animal! :D)

Anyhow, back to the point 🙂 Food challenge number 4 – not buying if I can make myself.  This whole challenge came up when I made the huge mistake of glancing at the ingredients list on the back of a packet of taco seasoning.  To be fair to the brand, the list was no where near as frightening as some, but I still raised an eyebrow at some of what was contained in what I had always assumed was simply a mix of herbs and spices!  In typical me fashion, the packet went back on the shelf and I stropped around the store muttering to myself that surely I could make something myself.  On my return home I was straight on the internet (having stowed the frozen and chilled goods of course), and found the perfect recipe on Rachelcooks.com.  I now only use this recipe and everyone that has tried it agrees it is just as, if not nicer, than the ready mixes you can buy.  It really is so easy, I am amazed that anyone every went to the bother of mass producing taco seasoning, but then I guess I bought it for years!

Homemade Taco Seasoning

Gather your ingredients: Chili powder, garlic powder, onion powder, oregano, paprika, cumin, sea salt and black pepper. (Rachelcooks also uses red pepper but I leave this out as I don’t want the heat).

IMG_2295

Measure them into a suitable pot (for exact measures see link at the bottom)

IMG_2298

Now the tricky bit – close the lid and give it a good ol’ shake 🙂

IMG_2299

Finishing touches – label your pot!

IMG_2300

No honestly, that’s it.  It really is that simple!  I use about 1 1/2 tablespoons of the mix to 500g of minced beef for tacos, and its lovely.

For full recipe please see here Homemade Taco Seasoning on Rachelcooks.com

As todays blog needed to be short the promised barm cakes recipe will now be next week!

Finally incase you were wondering where Maisie was… here she is, a little blurred as she was so excited we were home she wouldn’t stay still!

IMG_2283

Leave a Reply

